In Catholicism, the Mass comprises one its most definitive elements, involving unique beliefs in the liturgy of the  Eucharist, as well as the unity that it symbolizes. The Mass itself is composed of more than just its Eucharistic liturgy, and in fact, forms a thorough and fundamental foundation for divine worship in Catholicism.

Given this  primacy of place, the Catholic Church has urged that its members be educated about the Mass. There is so much richness of tradition and Sacramental  mystery in the Mass. Unfortunately much of it is often is left “unconsumed.” The Church deeply believes that the way we worship is primary and informs what we believe. It is critical that we connect our personal experiences with the Liturgy and learn more about the God we encounter in the Eucharist.

The Mass is broken down into the following components:

  • People and Liturgical Objects at Mass
  • Entering the Church
  • Opening Procession
  • Greeting
  • Penitential Rite
  • Lord, Have Mercy (Kyrie Eleison)
  • Gloria
  • Liturgy of the Word Sequence
  • The Gospel
  • Profession of Faith
  • General Intercessions (Prayer of the Faithful)
  • Our Gifts
  • Preparation, Prayer, Dialogue
  • Holy, Holy, Holy
  • Consecration
  • Mystery of Faith
  • The Great Amen
  • The Lord’s Prayer
  • Sign of Peace
  • Lamb of God
  • Holy Communion
  • Final Blessing & Concluding Rite